Just another WordPress.com site

Hi, everybody.

I am a self-employed attorney. I’m 53 years old and in good health.

I’m married with one adult child and another teenager.

My wife and I live mostly apart for a number of reasons. She’s very unreceptive to the idea of plural marriage – to put in mildly.

I have been interested in Christian polygyny for a few years now.

I feel that it might be something God wants for me. I don’t know for sure but I’m open to the idea. I feel that I could take good care of, for example, a single mom and her children, and she could take care of me.

I was raised in a devout Roman Catholic home and so I grew up with believing that polygyny was about the biggest sin anybody could commit.

While I still have the greatest of respect for the Church and Holy Tradition, I really have been forced to confront the fact that monogamy isn’t biblical but is in fact a cultural artifact that stems from Roman law. St. Augustine, perhaps the most influential theologian ever in the Western Church, wrote in the 4th century on polygyny:

But here there is no ground for a criminal accusation: for a plurality of wives was no crime when it was the custom; and it is a crime now, because it is no longer the custom. There are sins against nature, and sins against custom, and sins against the laws. As regards nature, [Jacob] used the women not for sensual gratification, but for the procreation of children. For custom, this was the common practice at that time in those countries. And for the laws, no prohibition existed. The only reason of its being a crime now to do this, is because custom and the laws forbid it

In this passage St. Augustine states forthrightly that polygyny is biblical but that it’s not in keeping with Roman custom and so it would be a sin to break the peace of Roman law and custom when it is not necessary to do so. Elsewhere St. Augustine states that polygyny was necessary in biblical times but it’s not necessary in the late Roman empire so Christians shouldn’t give scandal un…

Computer

Keywords: [tag]custom[/tag], [tag]children[/tag], [tag]roman[/tag], [tag]polygyny[/tag]

Site Description: Christianity forum

Category: [category]Religion[/category]

[sourceurl]http://biblicalfamilies.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1991[/sourceurl]

[index]1991[/index]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

